My Exercise Experiment & What I learned

exercise matFor four weeks, I only did the Resistance Band Workout. I did it at least every other day during the four week period. Then I went back to the Calisthenics & Abs Workout. And it was a killer for a while there. I could hardly get through it the first two times I did it after doing only Resistance Band Workout for such a long time (relatively). I was noticeably weaker, even though when I did both workouts I felt that I was gaining strength. I should probably mention that I stopped doing yoga and walking during this time and I have not started either of those activities again yet, but I plan to tomorrow.

It took me nearly three weeks to get back to the same strength and balance level I was at before I started the experiment. The experiment ended only a week or so ago, and right now I feel stronger than before the experiment started. Not sure what to make of that.

Also, today, I surpassed my workout time for the Calisthenic & Abs Workout – dropping the time by three whole minutes! It was surprisingly easy for me, and I could go through each set of exercises pretty fast without even getting winded. And there was no muscle or joint pain afterwards. Even now, several hours later, I am feeling no discomfort. Usually, when I have after workout discomfort it starts in the evening before bed, if not right after the workout.

BUT… and this is a big but for me, I did experience a slight tightness in my chest near the end of my workout. I rested for half a minute and continued to the end at a more subdued pace. When I finished, I drank at least 12 oz. of water and rested and the tightness went away, but it still concerns me that I had that experience. I have a congenital heart condition, so any unusual activity regarding my heart is worthy of note.

Anyway, I have decided that in the future, no matter how strong and energetic I feel, I will take it easy and not get carried away with pace. I should probably be more concerned about form anyway. Which reminds me, I have increased the incline of my wall push-outs, and at this point they are easier than they were previously. My arms are definitely stronger right now, and the injury to my left elbow joint has improved a LOT. :)

I think I can safely say that the Resistance Band Workout helped my elbow problem a lot. Also, I believe that the break from the Calisthenic & Abs routine made me stronger and improved my endurance greatly. I have no Idea why. If you do let me know.

I believe at this point that I am better off doing the Calisthenic & Abs workout, but that an occasional break from it – once or twice a year – may be helpful as far as boosting my strength and stamina. I feel pretty great right now, like I could hike the Appalachians.

I am considering combining the Calisthenic & Abs Workout with the Resistance Band Workout, but have not decided yet. If I do, it will probably be an addition to the entire Calisthenic & Abs routine, as that makes me feel the way a workout should make you feel, and I’m still excited to do it after all this time.

When I make a change or have something new to say about my fitness routine I will post again.

5 thoughts on “My Exercise Experiment & What I learned

  1. Pingback: The most important thing: A well-planned plan A and a plan B « Eating at my Desk

  2. Have you tried the GNC supplement Anatabloc? Big impact on exercise.

    “Inflammation is perhaps the major medical issue of our time and the ability to diminish its risk will change the way we manage health in America / the World.”

    ANATABLOC at GNC attacks inflammation –see following

    Athletes and nutraceutical supplement Anatabloc

    ” TURN BACK THE CLOCK WITH ANATABLOC !” Pro Golfer Fred Couples
    “Anatabloc has allowed me to stay on the court longer and in the gym longer, while at the same time helping with the recovery process. I simply do not feel as sore and fatigued as I have in the past,” Tennis Pro John Isner, ATP #1 Ranked US Player, as Second Brand Ambassador for Anatabloc

    Tennis Pro John Isner Video
    See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E69qKLmMvv0

Comments are closed.