Why I started this journal…

I was very ill recently and, as a result, was not able to exercise regularly for quite some time. I went from exercising almost everyday, to every once in a while — when I felt up to it, to nothing at all for a week or more.

At first I felt guilty, and I really missed the rush of feel-good endorphins, but the guilt was replaced by exhaustion and that wore off and I started not to care so much. Now that I am doing better, I am hoping to re-capture my former near obsession with fitness and lose the weight I gained during my convalescence.

I have to say, it has been really hard being out of shape and trying to get back into shape! Breathing hard from a relatively short walk, not being able to do a step aerobics routine for more than 15 minutes.

I don’t know how other people manage to get around and feel content without being fit. As I said before, and it bear repeating, I feel pretty exhausted most of the time, even now, but I’m determined to get back to where I was. It’s been difficult and I hope I never have occasion to take another long hiatus from fitness again, because regaining what was lost is hard as hell!

 

**This was reposted in it’s entirety after an unfortunate deletion of  the entire directory off my server. Then reposted again after I decided to close 21st Century Apothecary in July 2012.

