Reached my first goal

Well, it’s the end of my second week and I finally did the Calisthenic & Abs routine in 35 minutes — today. This required doing all my exercises in groups of 2 sets of 20 (even the ones I had been doing in 2 sets of 25) or 2 sets of 10 for the extremely challenging ones.

Not doing more of the extremely easy ones just because they’re easy gave me more time to work on the hard ones and I finished the routine faster. On the one hand, I feel like I cheated; on the other hand, I think I am finally doing my exercises as I should have from the start. ;)

I haven’t walked in a while because I hurt my leg and right foot. It’s not serious, but I see no reason to make it worse. My foot is still pretty swollen, and I favor the leg when I have to walk. Will probably start walks again next week. In the meantime, I have been doing Calisthenic & Abs routine every other day.

I should also mention that I added an extra set of 10 “lying toe touches”. For me that is the hardest exercise and I actually have to stretch my legs over my body and head before I start. But I am happy that I can now do 2 sets of 10. :D

Last week I was doing the Calisthenic & Abs routine in 38 minutes, although once I completed in 39-1/2 minutes, but I didn’t get much sleep the night before. I intend to add a set to other movements — “Seated knee lifts”, “butterfly crunches” and probably the “lying heel touches” which are too easy at this point. In the beginning they had me aching for weeks. They really work the internal and external obliques and make my waist look even smaller.

For those who have no idea what lying toe touches are, here’s a pretty good video demonstration of it:

But unlike the man in the video, I strive to keep my knees straight and my toes pointed upward, so that I have to reach higher. And I actually touch my toes.

On the whole, it’s nice to feel firm again. the Calisthenic & Abs routine is really getting the job done, but I want to add in a challenging cardio routine at some point. I miss stepping. I think I will try again when my foot and leg are better. Hopefully, I will be able to get through a 20 minute routine, but I am not in a rush. There’s always walking.

