My Somewhat New Calisthenic & Abs Routine

As I said in a previous post, I went back to the tried and true with a few alterations. I have since added in new exercises, but not as many as I had hoped, because I just wasn’t strong enough to do the horizontal or vertical scissors after all the other floor exercises. I am considering putting them first in the future, to see if that might work. The reverse crunches have been doable, and I am now able to complete 20 reps without stopping (on my elbows) or 2 sets of 10 with a short break in between (if lying completely flat). So, here is my calisthenics & Abs routine, from beginning to end…

Standing exercises:
Stretching – 5 mins

Twists – 50 (each side)

Side leg lifts – 2 sets of 30 reps, per leg (Lifting leg to hip height and back down to starting position, using only core muscles for balance)
Knee lifts – 3 sets of 30, per leg (lift to hip height)
Forward leg lifts – 2 sets of 30, per leg (lift to hip height)
*Deep squats – 3 sets of 20 (Start with legs hip length apart, shoulders back, and squat until the fingers tips of both hands can touch the floor)

Twists – 50 (each side)

Floor exercises:
Heel touches – 2 sets of 30
Butterfly crunches – 150
Roll-ups – 30
Bridge butt lifts – 2 sets of 30 reps
Leg circles – 2 sets of 30, per leg (at this point, I am saving myself the time it takes to repeatedly change sides and simply doing all 60 at once)
*Reverse crunch – 2 sets of 10 (or, as I mentioned above, all 20 at once)

Standing exercises:
Twists – 50 (each side)

*Knee to opposite elbow lifts – 50 (each leg)
Wall push-outs – 50 (usually at a 45 degree angle)
Heel to buttocks back kicks – 50 (each leg)
Arm circles – 50 forward, 50 back

Twists – 50 (each side)

If and when I add in the horizontal and vertical scissors I will be sure to let you know. Also, I plan to create a new playlist for this altered and enhance routine. The old list has gotten stale for me. I don’t find it as energizing as I use to. So, expect a new playlist to be posted soon. In the meantime, stay fit!

 

*These are new or altered exercises.

