Fitness Summary for 2013 and Goal for 2014

FitnessgoalQuote003In 2013, I managed to get more than 11,509 minutes of exercise. Keep in mind that I only time exercises that are time-able.

I know I haven’t posted in months, but I have been very busy and preoccupied with big and little issues/dramas here and there over the past few months, but I have exercised regularly (though not as regularly as before) in spite of this. I have succeeded in working my way from 2 sets of 10 horizontal scissors, vertical scissors and reverse crunches to 2 sets of 20. I’ve been doing 20 for at least the past two weeks.  I’m hoping to be able to do 2 sets of 30 by Summer. *fingers crosses*

I also intend to go back to using dumbbells. I was supposed to in 2013, but I never got around to it, because I felt the resistance bands were enough for me. I was wrong. I learned this when I was considering exchanging my butterfly crunches for planks and discovered that I am far too weak in my upper body to do planks. It was a sad and embarrassing discovery. Maybe the dumbbells will get my arms strong enough to do a few planks. Maybe not. I have always been extremely weak in my upper body, o it’s possible that I still won’t be able to do planks, but dumbbells are good for the triceps and delts, so I’m eager to create a routine for dumbbells this year. I’ll post when I do.

NEW GOAL

My goal for 2014 is to exceed the 11,509 minutes of timed exercises by at least 100 minutes. This may not seem like a lot, but with everything going on in my life right now and expectations for the near future, if I can reach this new goal by December 31, 2014 it will feel like a really big deal to me. I have already greatly exceeded my total exercise time in 2013 over 2012 – where I only exercised for 4,274 minutes,  that’s about 364 minutes per month; compared to 959 minutes per month in 2013.  Nearly 1000 minutes of timed exercises per month. I’m proud of that! Especially in comparison to the year before. That is a dramatic difference!

If any of you have a fitness goal for the new year please share.

Happy New Year! 🙂

 

