Definitely Making Progress

Progress01As I mentioned in my last post, in order to hit my end of year goal, I must exercise for 60 minutes per day, for 90 days  in October, November and December. Luckily, two of these months have 31 days, which gives me extra time to make up for any missed exercise sessions between now and December 31st.

Well, October hasn’t even reached its midpoint and I am already ahead. As of today, I am more than 1 hour ahead. I’m basing this on 60 minutes per day every day. As of today, I have exercise 904 minutes. To remain on track, I only needed 840 minutes of exercise. I plan to remain ahead by abstaining from any unnecessary “exercise vacations”. Every day will be an exercise day, even if I cannot get everything I want to do that day done. Of course, no one can plan for every event, and there’s always Murphy’s Law, but, if I remain focused on my end goal and plan carefully, I feel confident that I can hit 1800 minutes and beyond this month and every month till the new year.

I have yet to create a dumbbell workout routine (yeah, I know, what is my problem?), BUT I rebooted my resistance band routine last week. I am doing the same number of sets and reps and moves, but with the magenta band (the easiest one) . I plan to move on to the blue band I was using earlier this year in a few weeks, maybe sooner. It depends on whether or not I introduce dumbbells into the mix this month.

At this point I walk pretty much every day, do broomstick workout at least 5 days a week, and I’ve done resistance almost every day but Sunday since starting again. I think that I should change things, so that I am only doing two exercises per day. Maybe, walking and resistance one day, Broomstick and walking the next, and dumbbells and walking the day after. I haven’t decided. I don’t mind doing three different exercises per day, so far. Broomstick and resistance don’t take long. They’re both under 20 minutes. But if I add reps or sets it would be a different story, I’m sure. I’m actually thinking of increasing the reps of the resistance routine before switching to harder bands and adding a 4th set of reps to the Broomstick workout as well. If that happens, I may switch my workout days around as I described or something similar.

I’ll write again at the end of this month or beginning of the next. Hopefully, I will have exceeded my 1800 minute October goal by a wide margin. 🙂

