My Dumbell Workout

2kg-dumbbellI FINALLY created a dumbbell workout and performed it for the first time on Saturday, and I have already determined a schedule for this workout: Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday.

These are the moves:

10 Dead lifts (to standing position)

10 Dead lifts to sky (hold above head 2 counts)

10 Bicep curls

10 Tricep kickbacks (bent knee, leaning forward)

10 Overhead presses

10 Curl punches (one arm at a time)

10 Side lifts (straight arms, straight legs)

10 Cross body curl (one arm at a time)

It’s a short workout, only takes about 6.5 minutes to complete, but it isn’t as easy as it may seem. I’m using a 5lb weight (wimpy, I know), which is what I was using when I stopped doing dumbbell workouts after moving to my current home, but I have arthritis and I’m weak as tea from not using free weights for so long.  I was really sore after the first time, but it didn’t last long. I hope to increase reps to 20 by the end of the month, but a problem with my medium tension resistance band may make that harder … or easier. Who knows?

Two days ago, my medium resistance band broke, as a result of a mysterious 1/2-inch cut whose origins I still haven’t determined. I saw the cut before beginning my workout but did it anyway; less than half way through my workout it broke. I immediately switched to the red band – a heavy resistance band, and it has been HARD. Moving that band through 3 sets of each move is so much harder than I ever imagined it would be, but today was slightly easier than Tuesday, which is encouraging.

While shopping, yesterday, I considered purchasing 20-lb tubing. I decided to think about it before making the purchase. I have always been leery of tubing, because of the things I’d heard about them breaking free and hitting the user in the eye, blinding them. I chose bands way back when because I thought they would be safer and I would not have the breaking problem (which happened anyway), but since that was no guarantee, though I was not harmed in any way when it broke, I still think I should give tubes a try. Maybe, next year. I think it’s a little late in the year to change my equipment now. Maybe, I’ll move on to tubes when the red band become easy.

In the meantime, I will continue getting my resistance workout done with the red band and consider adding dumbbell reps at the end of next week, if I don’t believe I will be too sore as a result. I’ll post again when something changes. 🙂

